Thursday, January 24, 2008

The core of yoga

A little sharing to all~~

The Eight Limbs of yoga, The Core of Yoga is the first thing i had been taught in my Yoga class~~
Yoga is the union between the body, mind and spirit...
And the steps of yoga is as follows:

  • Yama : Universal morality
  • Niyama : Personal observances
  • Asanas : Body postures
  • Pranayama : Breathing exercises, and control of prana
  • Pratyahara : Control of the senses
  • Dharana : Concentration and cultivating inner perceptual awareness
  • Dhyana : Devotion, Meditation on the Divine
  • Samadhi : Union with the Divine

  • These eight steps of yoga indicate a logical pathway that leads to the attainment of physical, ethical, emotional, and psycho-spiritual health. Yoga does not seek to change the individual; rather, it allows the natural state of total health and integration in each of us to become a reality.

    ** I love yoga!!!


    Jasonmumbles said...

    To me. Yogo is a sport. Full stop. LOL.

    King Qi said...

    this may sound absurd but i did yoga in australia. hardcore! :(

    Stephanie_yinG said...

    jasonmumbles : yoga is a kind of relaxing sport..hahaha...

    king qi : wow...then ur body ma so flexible now lo?but in my class a lot of uncle uncle learn yoga too..younger maa:P